Friday, March 23, 2012

I'm joining the bandwagon

So I've decided to start my own blog as well. Not that I think many people will be particularly interested in these things, but I know I thoroughly enjoy reading the blogs of my friends and family that I don't get to see every day, so I thought that perhaps they too, would enjoy reading some of my musings.

I would like to make my first post about the thing that is forefront in my mind right now: my future. In my younger days, I basically breezed through life (high school, college) not really trying very hard and still doing well, and I didn't have a problem bouncing from career goal to career goal without really settling on one for long because I was always of the mind-set, "I'm young, I have time to make up my mind." Well, while I will not dispute that I am still young, I am in my late twenties now (oh yes, LATE, ugh), and I feel that it is time for me to cut the bullshit and decide. I've toyed with the idea of pursuing my PhD in Psychology for years, and it wasn't until I found out about a certain program available to me that it became clear that I should really go for it! The military offers a program to go to the Uniformed Services University and earn your Masters and PhD with a follow-on internship at a military hospital, and you get paid the entire time. Sounds too good to be true, right? Well it almost is. The program is EXTREMELY selective, meaning only about 5-7 people from the entire military (that's ALL branches, not just AF) get in each year. So I have set my sights on this program now, and I am gearing up to apply at the end of this year.

My immediate goals are to take the GRE and get involved in research projects to get all peer-reviewed and whatnot. I've purchase multiple GRE study guides and have been working on those, and I've also gotten involved in one research study with one of the docs I work with and I'm open to others. I've been putting myself out there, trying to gain all the insight I can from the psychologists I see in the clinic, and making it known that I am enthusiastic and hopeful that I will be a stand-out applicant. That being said, from what I've read about the program, many students don't make it the first time they apply, so I'm prepared for that. I just want to make sure my package is as awesome as possible this year so that if I don't quite make the cut, I will still stand out in their minds as someone to consider next time.

Being out of school for so long has made me realize how much I actually liked being IN school. I miss classes and learning new things that are relevant and novel and just plain cool. I feel like I've finally grown in to someone who is ready to take my life seriously and actually make an effort at getting what I want instead of just succeeding because I'm a good test-taker and have a photographic memory.

So anyway, that's what I'm working on now. Getting my shit together and making something of my life. I feel like I have a lot to live up to, being that my sister is a freaking genius who goes around inventing things like flavor-changing lip gloss and ball powder lotion =). 

1 comment:

  1. And who DOESN'T need Ball Powder Lotion?! Seriously though, it was you who made me feel like the dumb one in the fam all through school because you never had to study like I did. I'm pretty sure you are a genius too- you just need to let it out!

    ReplyDelete